Principal of the Year Award

​​The  Outstanding Principal of the Year Award is an annual award to recognise and encourage school principals/school leaders who provide outstanding support for their school library and school library staff. The recipient of this year’s award is none other than our Principal, Mr David McInnes.

Mr McInnes was selected to receive this award because he values the library and library staff, and provides exemplary support for library initiatives. He attends guest author visits and workshops, supports the College’s  participation in the Premier’s Reading Challenge and always entertains students with storytelling on National Read Aloud Day. Mr McInnes promotes The Great Book Swap, Voices on the Coast Literature Festival, Readers’ Cup and the First Friday Book Club. During Book Week, he always dresses in costume for the annual Book Week Character Parade.
Mr McInnes is committed to communicating effectively, listening to the issues and concerns of staff and addressing these in a proactive manner. He has regular monthly meetings with the Teacher Librarian. He ensures that the library is adequately funded & staffed to provide quality resources and excellent services for the College. Thanks to Mr McInnes’ support, the library is able to provide quality, contemporary resources including fiction and non-fiction books, online databases, ebooks, kindles, online video library, DVDs and teacher resources. 
Mr McInnes promotes library services and ensures that the College community values the importance of the library. Library staff members collaborate with members of the College community to provide a wide range of relevant resources and services as well as opportunities for contemporary learning. The library is the centre of the College, both physically and academically with hundreds of students and staff accessing the resources and services daily. 
With Mr McInnes’ endorsement, the library is an active partner in developing information literate students at St Teresa's Catholic College. 

STCC Principals Award.JPG